Surrounded by History
The Winery at Bull Run is located adjacent to the charming Stone Bridge which crosses Bull Run stream at the eastern entrance of the Manassas National Battlefield Park in Manassas, Virginia. The original bridge was destroyed during the First Battle of Bull Run (First Manassas) on July 21, 1861, the first major land battle of the American Civil War. Some years later, the new bridge of today, similar to the original design, was built on the site of the old bridge.
The Winery at Bull Run Echoes with the Past
Something old to something new.
The Winery lies on 225 acres adjacent to Manassas Battlefield Park where the remnants of an old house that burned down about 30 years ago still partially stand. Because The Winery at Bull Run is passionate about the history of the area, we salvaged the old stone foundation and chimney which was stabilized to preserve the interesting 1800s character of the site.
The Hillwood Mansion Ruins
The property has had a number of different owners, extending all the way back to 1649, when it was granted by King Charles II of England as part of the Northern Neck Proprietary. The land on which Hillwood was built was once part of the Middle Bull Run Tract; one of six vast land holdings of Robert “King” Carter. It passed from generation to generation within the Carter family.
Passing through several owners, Frank Entwisle wound up with the property in 1946. The property boasted a significant garden, complete with strawberries, blackberries, goose berries, and of course, a number of grape vines. After the death of his wife Emma in 1971, Frank moved away and the house was sold to a nephew who rented it out. In 1990, a severe fire threatened to destroy the home, and the property remained abandoned for nearly 2 decades.